NYLC awards shine a spotlight on exemplary leaders from across the service-learning movement, and nurtures the leaders of the future.

NYLC is delighted to share the news of its 2018 award winners. The Alec Dickson Servant Leader award goes to education professor Barb Wittemann of Concordia College; the service-learning practitioner award goes to Katrina Weimholt, Assistant Director of the Center for Civic Engagement at Northwestern University in Evanston, Ill., and the youth leadership for service-learning excellence award goes to a team of young people from Entheos Academy in Kearns, Utah, who developed and train on a STEM curriculum called “the Incredible Machine.”

This year’s awards ceremony will be held at Justice in Action, the 29th Annual National Service-Learning Conference®, in St. Paul, MN, March 11-13, 2018.

Above: Brenda Elliott, 2014 winner of the G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Award.

Service-Learning Practitioner Leadership Award
The Service-Learning Practitioner Leadership Award recognizes those who have equipped young people to lead and serve, both through their direct work with youth and by nurturing other practitioners. Nominations are accepted from the general public, and a committee of leaders from the service-learning field select the winners.

Youth Leadership For Service-Learning Excellence Award
The Youth Leadership for Service-Learning Excellence Award recognizes service-learning programs and projects that demonstrate outstanding youth leadership. This award focuses on projects that show a high level of youth initiative in all areas including identifying an authentic need, planning the service, and putting that plan into action. Teams of young people participating in service-learning projects can apply.

G. Bernard Gill Urban Service-Learning Leadership Award
This award honors individuals who, by example, have played a leadership role in urban schools, communities, and the lives of young people. Bernard Gill, a beloved NYLC staff member, was a pioneering leader in the urban service-learning movement. He organized the first and successive National Urban Service-Learning Institutes and was passionate about the engagement of African-American males and the impact service-learning could make on their lives.

Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award
NYLC’s Alec Dickson Servant Leader Award honors exemplary leaders who, by example, have inspired the service-learning field, have had a positive impact on the lives of young people, and have motivated others to take up the banner of service. This award is named for British humanitarian Alec Dickson (1914-94), whose vision, innovation, and commitment has inspired so many individuals to lead lives dedicated to service. His legacy continues to influence young people, teachers, agencies, schools, and communities.

The Evan Dalgaard Leadership Award
This award recognizes a young person who exemplifies leadership, social justice, and a love for life — all of which Evan Dalgaard stood for. Since 2008, the National Youth Leadership Council has honored the memory of Evan Dalgaard by giving this award to a dedicated young champion of service.

Stellar Service-Learning Award
This award recognizes a leader who continues Raudenbush’s legacy in service-learning by equipping young people to lead and serve. The recipient of the award inspires others to imagine and to work for schools and communities that are fair, just, and good for children — values held dear to Raudenbush.

William James National Service Lifetime Achievement Award
This award honors individuals who have demonstrated leadership, professionalism, and integrity and made significant contributions to the advancement of service-learning and national service over the majority of their professional lives. It is named after the philosopher and pacifist William James who described the foundation for nonmilitary service in the United States in a 1906 speech and subsequently in an essay entitled “The Moral Equivalent of War” (1910).